Vienna - a regional authority

The City of Vienna has a special position within Austria because it is

  • the federal capital, i.e. the seat of the Republic of Austria’s highest authorities,
  • federal province of the Republic of Austria, and
  • municipality with the legal status of a chartered city.

Vienna - the federal capital of Austria

As the seat of the republic’s highest authorities (federal parliament, head of state, federal government and the highest courts), Vienna is the economic and political centre of Austria. It does not, however, enjoy any particular privileges in its role as a federal capital.

Vienna - a federal province of Austria

Since 1 January 1922, Vienna has been one of the nine autonomous federal provinces that form the Republic of Austria.

As a federal province, Vienna has a right to its own legislation and provincial executive body.

It currently designates 10 representatives to the second chamber of federal legislation, the so-called Federal Assembly, which is also known as "Chamber of Provinces".

Legislation in Vienna is in the hands of the Vienna Provincial Parliament. The highest executive body is the Vienna Provincial Government, which is headed by the Governor. The Provincial Parliament has 100 members; the Provincial Government is formed by the Governor and currently 12 members of government called City Councillors.

Administrative tasks are performed by the Office of the Provincial Government under the direction of the Head of the Office of the Provincial Government.

Contact for this page:
City of Vienna | Executive Office for General Matters
Contact form