Vienna - a part of the Republic of Austria

The City of Vienna is both the national capital of Austria and one of Austria's federal provinces (Bundesländer). With a total size of 414 square kilometres and a population of about 1.92 million, it is by far the largest municipality in the country, and serves as the seat of many international organisations. The following overview on the structure of the Republic of Austria, its federal provinces and municipalities is to allow for a complete understanding of the City of Vienna's role and place within the federal state of Austria.

Contact for this page:
City of Vienna | Executive Office for General Matters
Contact form