Sustainable Development Goals

On 25 September 2015 the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and defined 17 goals for sustainable development.

17 goals for Sustainable Development

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) will shape the future of humanity. They constitute a very committed international agenda that concerns every human being in the world and should be achieved over the next 15 years.

Development projects, which are co-financed by the City of Vienna, will also deal with the SDGs in 2016:

Funding proposals for development projects - call for proposals

17 Goals

Following the plans of the United Nations, poverty and hunger should be a thing of the past by 2030 and all children around the world should go to school. The planet and environment should be protected. We should fight inequalities and create a peaceful, just and inclusive society.

One of the key phrases is: "No one will be left behind."

There are 17 goals and 169 detailed targets.
The 17 goals that should be achieved by 2030 are:

  1. No poverty
  2. Zero hunger
  3. Good health and well-being
  4. Quality education
  5. Gender equality
  6. Clean water and sanitation
  7. Affordable and clean energy
  8. Decent work and economic growth
  9. Industry, innovation and infrastructure
  10. Reduced inequalities
  11. Sustainable cities and communities
  12. Responsible consumption and production
  13. Climate action
  14. Life below water
  15. Life on land
  16. Peace, justice and strong institutions
  17. Partnerships for the goals

What is new about these goals is that they are valid for all countries - industrialized as well as developing countries.

Information material for download

Contact for this page:
Chief Executive Office - European and International Affairs
Contact form